The biennial Van Isle 360 Race is comprised of nine individual legs that circumnavigate the Vancouver Island off the Pacific coastline of British Columbia. The combination of the nine legs determined the class winners as well as the overall winner. The legs were:

  1. Nanaimo to Comox- 36.9nm
  2. Comox to Campbell River- 27.6nm
  3. Deepwater Bay to Hardwicke Island- 24.2nm
  4. Hardwicke Island to Telegraph Cove- 41.0nm
  5. Telegraph Cove to Port Hardy- 28.7nm
  6. Port Hardy to Winter Harbour- 69.1nm
  7. Winter Harbour to Ucluelet- 138.1nm
  8. Ucluelet to Victoria Harbour- 98.2nm
  9. Victoria Harbour to Nanaimo- 59.9nm
    That made for a total of at least 486.8nm down the rhumbline. The fleet experienced the standard extremes of weather from complete glass outs/waiting for breeze to 40 to 50 knot microbursts coming down from the mountain peaks. In the PHRF Division 1, winning was B. Chan and A. Smyth’s J/111 65 RED ROSES II with 19 points and also taking first PHRF Overall (six classes). For more Van Isle 360 Race information, visit